GIVEAWAY – Please help me assuage my post-BEA guilt

September 1, 2012 Giveaways 12

  

Dear Readers,

Something I never mentioned on the blog was that I went to BEA.  Yes, exciting!  I hopped a train to NYC and spent one day in the exhibition hall, wandering the aisles and feeling…overwhelmed.  One thing I learned about my single day at BEA:  you must have a plan.  I didn’t.  I thought there was nothing but pure publishing craziness!  People were handing out books like free community newspapers.  And because I have a book problem, I was taking them.  No matter what.  No matter that I don’t read middle grade YA or James Patterson; no matter that, while I love Chris Colfer on Glee, I was not too interested in reading his book.  I thought to myself, well, here is a chance to read something a little different.  I’ll read these and do mini-reviews on the blog.  I feel so guilty.  These ARCs have been sitting on my shelves since May and I know I will never read them, no matter what my good intentions were at the time.  And it’s not a question of these books being good or bad it’s just with the little reading time I have, I know I won’t get to them.  Lesson learned.  They deserve good homes with good bloggers and readers who love Colfer, Patterson and the Princess Academy.  If you think you might be interested in reading any of the books below and posting reviews or ratings on your blog or on Goodreads, please enter the giveaway.  You would be doing a public service while also assuaging the She-Wolf Reads guilt.  

 

ARCs up for grab (click images for Goodreads summaries):

 

 

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

12 Responses to “GIVEAWAY – Please help me assuage my post-BEA guilt”

  1. June

    I do like James Patterson, but it has been a few years since I read any of his books.

    • June

      Oh, and I think we all have books that make us guilty. They just seem to say to me “I have been on this shelf for months but you bought MORE books?!?!”

  2. Tracey

    No need for guilt – it’s very, very hard to walk away from a book (or a bunch of books) that need a good home. And like a responsible rescuer, you are finding good homes for those that don’t work for you.

    I for one am curious about the Chris Colfer book. (Is it me, or does the girl on the cover of Princess Academy look like Keira Knightley?)

  3. Suzanne Pringle

    The Land of Stories caught my eye. I have young ones and am always on the lookout for books for them. As for an adult book I would like to read The Hundred Year old Man.

    I know all about guilt, and the feeling of being in a room filled with so many books! I would have done the same -grabbed as many as I can. I call myself a collector of books 😉
    Thank you for the giveaway and finding good homes to these books. 🙂

  4. the maniacal bookworm

    Omg! I would like to read the Palace of Stone! Thank you so much for the giveaway! I want to go to the BEA now! And you shouldn’t feel guilty! Honestly, I would do the same thing. 🙂

  5. Ana @ BookSpark

    There’s no doubt I’d do the very same thing if I got to go to BEA (she says with a hint of jealousy). Who can resist a freebie that’s an ARC? And sometimes, it’s just so easy to take what’s offered like that. I have so many old Netgalley reads – even a few from last year – that I keep meaning to read, but instead I just request something else. I’ll never catch up with that pile, I tell ya. So no need to feel guilty!

  6. Jill

    I would love The Land of Stories. I promise to give it a loving home on my shelf 🙂

  7. Rachel

    I found this giveaway on the Goodreads group for Giveaway listings. So glad I found it! These books look great. If I do win them, definitely going to review I have a good track record on Goodreads for that.

  8. Tammy Hall

    The Land of Stories
    No need for guilt not for being a book lover! Can’t go wrong with a good book.

  9. Emily

    I would like Zoo! Sounds super interesting! And why would you be guilty? If I were you, I’d be doing the same thing! In fact, when my library was giving out free books, I just grabbed like 10 without even reading what it was about! I actually did get this good book though, I saw good reviews on it! Oh and can I ask ,what is BEA?